No rhymes. No instruments. Just my Psalm.

5 Apr

Lord, you are good. You are a God of mercy and of peace.

Peace that passes understanding was once foreign to me,
but through my pain and now in my healing,
your Holy Spirit floods me with that very thing.
You are peace.

I did not–no, I do not–understand the enormity of your merciful goodness,
yet I have tasted and seen that you are indeed good. And merciful.
You are mercy.

You rescued me. You placed me on a new path.
You saved me from destruction and gave me new life.
You are faithful.

So here I stand, full of new life, knowing that you are faithful.
With each passing day I yearn to become more like your Son.
Lord, help me that I might have the patience to let perseverance have its perfect work in me.

And now with open eyes, I see my friends, my neighbors, my acquaintances–
I see them hurting just as I was.
I see they are hopeless, just as I once was.

But you call me to your comfort,
and then to share that comfort.
You call me to serve, just like Jesus.
To bring you glory, just like Jesus.
To use my talents to glorify your name.

Where you lead me, Lord, I will follow.
Thank you for your goodness.
Thank you for your mercy.
Thank you for your faithfulness.
Thank you that you are a constant, even when my world falls apart.

Thank you, Father, for allowing me to be called your daughter.

Amen.

7 Responses to “No rhymes. No instruments. Just my Psalm.”

  1. charinabrooks April 5, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    This is beautiful Jennifer! Thank you for sharing.

    Blessings!

  2. mymansrib April 5, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Beautiful.
    Inspiring.
    This Psalm of hope.
    Love it.

  3. Gloria April 7, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    inspiring!
    Peace is such a wonderful gift from God.

    • Jennifer Hope April 10, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Thank you!
      And it really is a gift! It seemingly came out of nowhere in the middle of a very hard time in my life. I asked a friend of mine, “should I be miserable right now? I don’t feel hopeless or lost anymore. I’ve found peace that came out of nowhere!”
      And she gently said to me, “It didn’t come from nowhere. It’s the Holy Spirit.”
      Amen!!!

      • Gloria April 15, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

        Only the Holy Spirit can give us peace that goes beyond our understanding. What a gift!! No matter what we are facing, God is still God and is an ever present help in trouble. I am still amazed when peace floods my heart and troubles lose their power to discourage me.

Leave a comment